Tags

, ,

Ferdinand is molting. He looks like the most scraggly, unfortunate creature ever right now. At first I was worried there was something wrong with his wings- they had gotten all ragged on the edges. I was afraid he had been beating against the cage or doing something else to hurt himself. And then he started dropping feathers and getting pinfeathers back in and I felt silly for all my worry.

This seems to be the trend with me and Ferdinand. Get stressed something has gone wrong and have it turn out to be something completely mundane and utterly normal.

He is not pleased with the process. He is irritable and is shouting to let me know about it.

But hey, at least I get to gather up the dropped feathers to keep. I lost all of his ‘baby’ feathers in the flood. I will have to content myself with baby’s first molt.

Dear god, I am that parent.

