Image

It has been almost two years, and there has been a lot of change for both Ferdinand and myself, so please pardon the radio silence. We managed to lose our home in the flooding in New York late 2011, lived in a tiny temporary place, and finally found a wonderful place on a hill to purchase.

 

 

 

 

 

Ferdinand now holds court in my office, hopping from shoulder to head to hands as I type. He isImage rather fascinated with the keyboard and will peck at it trying to make the ‘clicking’ noise the keys make while I am typing. When not trying to establish his own Twitter account, he forages in my ears plays with my fingers and computer mouse, and checks to make sure I have not left anything in my mug.

Image

 

 

 

 

He is still not one for being touched. He will sit on me, he will groom and sing/speak at me, we will play, but hands are the bane of his existence and I don’t think he will ever grow out of that. And I am fine with that. He is, after all, a 

Image

wild animal. He has his toys, his human to hang out with and is  quite the handsome, chatty fellow. Every now and then he picks up a new word that we did not at all expect. It is sort of like having a toddler around. If you don’t want the starling repeating it, you probably don’t want to say it around them. Ferdinand calls the cats and mimics my laugh quite often. His brother, living with a friend, mimics her cell phone.

But my favorite is when Ferdinand repeats “You’re okay”, an artifact from when I was soothing a young bird who was unsure about all of this.

 

